The Fortnightly Playlist, February 24th, 2019

There’s a wide variety of styles this edition, which reflects my listening lately. A little more World music, more neo-classical, some hip-hop and dance… really just a bit of everything. There’s a new Czarface record out, as well as new records from Lazerbeak, Vieo Abiungo, Ladytron, Gary Clark Jr, and Cass McCombs. There’s also new singles from John Vanderslice, Eliza Shaddad, Jamila Woods, Flock of Dimes, Gaye Su Akyol, and Tacocat.

Luther is the new full-length record from Lazerbeak. It’s his first solo album since 2012’s Lava Bangers, but of course he’s been far from unproductive since then with his fingerprints being all over every Doomtree-related release that comes out. Also, last year saw him collaborate with Chicago-based rapper, Longshot, on a record called Parades. The new record has a much more patient and atmospheric sound than his more typical big beats that come to the front of his more hip-hop oriented material for P.O.S, Sims, or Shredders. The tracks tend to be more builders than straight bangers on this one, but it makes for a great listen straight-through.

My big discovery this week was Gaye Su Akyol. Her blend of funk, synthpop, blues and electronica with Turkish flair has really struck me as some of the most fun music available today. It’s full of energy and brings together eastern and western styles in ways that could only be done by someone fully immersed in both. The big, bold hooks here really draw you in, and it’s the sort of thing you can’t help but move to.

Other favorites in this edition are Cass McCombs, Nicola Cruz, Flock of Dimes, Ibibio Sound Machine, and MADMADMAD.


Bruno Bavota – Passengers
Lazerbeak – Fathoms
Ibibio Sound Machine – Wanna Come Down
Flock of Dimes – The Sisters
Madeline Kenney – Helpless
Porter Ray – Mask of Control
Jamila Woods – ZORA
Eliza Shaddad – Don’t Speak
We Were Pirates – You Don’t Owe Me Anything
Plain Sails – Made of Glass
Ladytron – Far From Home
Nicola Cruz – Siete
John Vanderslice – I’ll Wait For You
TacocaT – Grains of Salt
Fontaines DC – Too Real
A.A. Bondy – Images of Love
Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba – Deli
Hey! Douglas, Gaye Su Akyol – Ayva Cicek Acmis
Gary Clark Jr – What About Us
Czarface, Ghostface Killah – Powers and Stuff
Vieo Abiungo, William Ryan Fritch – Cobble Together
Joshua Burnside – Desert Wine
Cass McCombs – The Great Pixley Train Robbery
Teen Daze – Endless Light

The Fortnightly Playlist, February 11th, 2019

A day late, but not a song short. Difficult to fit everything in that I wanted to this edition. There’s a lot of excellent music coming out. New records from Blockhead, The Dandy Warhols, Steve Mason, Beirut, and Deer Tick, and new singles coming from Andrew Bird, Florence + The Machine, Lucy Dacus, and The Mountain Goats.

Listen Here

Andrew Bird has released the 2nd single now leading up to his upcoming release, and he’s sounding better than ever. Bird is the sort of artist that is so wildly multi-talented that it is almost infuriating for any amateur-musician-turned-amateur-blogger, but also you can’t help but admire him. I first came across his music about 10 years ago, but recently I realized just what a catalog he has amassed. his upcoming record, My Finest Work Yet, will be his 15th studio record. I see no reason yet to disbelieve the title.

There was one artist that I featured twice on the very first Fortnightly Playlist I made. It was early 2016, there were 10 songs, and 2 of them were from Lady Lamb’s album After. Well, Lady Lamb (Aly Spaltro) is back again releasing her first single since 2016’s Tender Warriors Club. True to form, the new single is exactly the things that made her stand out to me in the first place. Energy and honesty, unexpected turns and intricate weaving lines. I definitely look forward to more from her.


Junius Meyvant – Lay Your Head
Lady Lamb – Even In the Tremor
Florence & The Machine – Moderation
Haelos – Kyoto
Hembree – Culture
Blockhead – Slippery Slope
The Dandy Warhols – Thee Elegant Bum
Malibu Ken – Corn Maze
Death Valley Girls – Disaster (Is What We’re After)
Gary Clark Jr – I Walk Alone
Steve Gunn – Vagabond
Deer Tick – Run of the Mill
Bear’s Den – Fuel On The Fire
Steve Mason – Spanish Brigade
Beirut – Gallipoli
Ritual Howls – Alone Together
Lucy Dacus – La Vie En Rose
Andrew Bird – Sisyphus
The Mountain Goats – Younger
Ex Hex – Tough Enough
Mekons – Lawrence of California
Erika Wennerstrom – Twisted Highway
Jeff Johnson & Phil Keaggy – Cappadocia