The Fortnightly Playlist, July 16th, 2017

Is there a song that can trasition between jazz-folk-singer-songwriter, Meklit, and electro pioneer, Gary Numan? Yes. It’s Cut Copy’s newest single, Airborne. I’m quite proud of that discovery. All that and more in the playlist this time around.

It’s always interesting to hear a very familiar voice singing an unfamiliar song. The instantly singable melodies of Lo Tom make that even more strange. It’s new, but I felt when I first heard it that I knew it. Lo Tom is a new project fronted by David Bazan with members from Pedro the Lion and Starflyer 59. The full, self-titled album dropped this week, and included here is the first single that was released, Overboard.

Jazz and soul, bright horns, fluttering strings and beautiful melodies… Ethiopian jazz, folk, singer-songwriter, Meklit. There’s so much I’ve been enjoying in her new record, When The People Move, The Music Moves Too. It’s all enhanced by the guest appearances from The Preservation Hall Horns and Andrew Bird.

Other highlights this edition are Pixx, Songhoy Blues, Salt Cathedral, This Is The Kit, and Vertebrae.

c8gycknx0aa-8fy

  1. Pixx – I Bow Down
  2. Lo Tom – Overboard
  3. Waxahatchee – Never Been Wrong
  4. Com Truise – … Of Your Fake Dimension
  5. Mammut – Breathe Into Me
  6. Songhoy Blues – Sahara (Feat. Iggy Pop)
  7. Mogwai – Party in the Dark
  8. DJ Shadow – Systematic (feat. Nas)
  9. Salt Cathedral – Always There When I Need You
  10. This Is The Kit – Moonshine Freeze
  11. The Districts – If Before I Wake
  12. The Telescopes – You Can’t Reach What You Hunger
  13. Vertebrae – Half The Time
  14. Low Cut Connie – Controversy
  15. Les Amazones d’Afrique, Rokia Kone – Mansa Soyari
  16. Meklit – I Want to Sing for Them All (feat. Andrew Bird)
  17. Cut Copy – Airborne
  18. Gary Numan – My Name Is Ruin
  19. Nine Inch Nails – Less Than
  20. Wolf Alice – Don’t Delete The Kisses
  21. Jadea Kelly – On The Water
  22. Olafur Arnalds, Arnor Dan – Take My Leave of You
3 thoughts on “The Fortnightly Playlist, July 16th, 2017

  1. I work in an office where we are allowed to listen to Spotify as we work. I find myself listening to the same things over and over. This playlist was so refreshing and I love what you are doing here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying it. The thing about Spotify recommendations is that they tend to recommend things that are similar to other things you listen to. That’s not bad necessarily, but not very conducive to branching out and stretching yourself. Sometimes you want to listen to something comfortable and familiar, and sometimes you want to listen to something wildly different and new.

      Like

Leave a Reply

