First 1/2 Top 3

Here we are halfway through 2017. The second year of creating the Fortnightly Playlist, and the first full year of it appearing here on this blog. At this time of year, I start to think what albums have really stood out to me so far. As usual, there are more great records than I can really include, but there are a few super-standouts for me that I’ll be sharing here. There’s still 6 months left, and plenty of new music on the way, but my top 3 so far might be difficult to break into. I don’t see these dropping out of my top 10 at the year’s end for sure.

#3 – I Am Another You – Making Movies
large
I was completely blindsided by this record in just the last couple weeks. Thematically, the group focuses in on stories around the immigration and social justice, and does so weaving rock, psychedelia, American roots, and various Latin styles. Incredible guitar hooks and truly fantastic latin percussion make this a great listen.

#2 – Chill, dummy – P.O.S.
a2471232018_10
This record unlocked a lot of new music for me. I wasn’t all that familiar with P.O.S. or the Minneapolis collective, Doomtree, until hearing P.O.S. do a live set on the radio earlier this year. I really connected with this record, and from there I springboarded into the records that Doomtree had made as a collective, as well as the numerous solo projects of all its members. This record shifts through intense and atmospheric and back again so smoothly, and it holds my interest. I find myself often listening to it straight through in its entirety.

#1 – Life and Livin’ It – Sinkane
a4112826184_10
Brooklyn-based, London-born, Sudanese Sinkane incorporates such a broad variety of sounds that it is no surprise that this one stands out for me. Catchy keyboard and guitar hooks draw you in on each track. Bright afro-rock, pop, shoegaze, reggae and blues all identifiable at moments in this unique, funky blend, and yet it has a coheseive sound. It covers so much ground, but doesn’t lose itself.

This is my top 3 so far this year, and I’d love to discuss these and other records in the comments. Please, share your own favorites! Here’s a short playlist with a few tracks from each of these, and we’ll be back to The Fortnightly Playlist next week.

Top 3 so far

Josh

One thought on “First 1/2 Top 3

  1. Sinkane definitely has something, not my normal fare but that first track Deadweight was really good.

    P.O.S. and Making Movies not really my type of music.

    Like

Leave a Reply

